[Solved ] Convert and modify

The right place to speak and share about your experiences of GraphicConverter
Post Reply
Alain Filhol
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:17 pm

[Solved ] Convert and modify

Post by Alain Filhol » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:26 pm

I am new at the option "Convert and modify" of Graphic Converter and I have problems with it.

Graphic Converter 10 :
the button "Go" is absent while it is present in Graphic Converter 9. How can I process my files without this button ?
Use Batch:
I define a batch (set of actions) and save it. I selected input/output folders, etc. Nevertheless the button bar stays greyed and, e.g. I have no access to "batch and format". If I switch to the Browser mode, the batch I ahve saved is not listed in the "batch and format" menu.
Custom raw format:
RAW: this asks for a set of parameters and I can open my files one by one
"Convert and modify" does not ask for these parameters and thus I do not understand how I can batch process my files.

All the best
AF

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Convert and modify

Post by forum_adm » Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:28 am

Just click onto "Start selected function". We made the text more clear in GraphicConverter 10.

Use Batch and the batch functions are only active if you select as function "Convert" in the popup.

Click onto the options button to set the RAW export parameters.
Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 08.25.36.png
Screen Shot 2017-03-07 at 08.25.36.png (50.89 KiB) Viewed 1326 times

Alain Filhol
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:17 pm

Re: Convert and modify

Post by Alain Filhol » Tue Mar 07, 2017 5:37 pm

Thank you very much, I should have found that myself. Sorry !

Now I have another problem. I don't understand "level".
GC and Photoshop dialogues are similar but behaves differently.
The attached document shows a 16bits TIFF with very weak diffraction peaks.
1- the image processed with PhotoShop
=> the background and the weak peaks are visible (the high intensity part is lost)
2- the image processed with GC and the same settings
=> background and weak peaks are lost, only the most intense peaks are shown
=> may be only half of the 16bits were processed
=> I tried a 8 bits conversion but got the same result

Any advices ?
Here some test files
https://cloud.ill.fr/index.php/s/cMozReP9pXqgdPl

All the best
Alain
Attachments
GC-level.png
GC-level.png (386.03 KiB) Viewed 1319 times

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Convert and modify

Post by forum_adm » Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:26 am

I download the files. That are 24 bit RGB files. So, a conversion to 16 bit grayscale is useless. Please use 8 bit grayscale.
Also, please open the file directly in GraphicConverter and select the levels command.
The algorithms and the numbers maybe a bit different. Because Adobe does not publish them.

Alain Filhol
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:17 pm

Re: Convert and modify

Post by Alain Filhol » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:32 pm

I am Back to Graphic Converter.
- I can do everything I want one file at a time, and with classical file formats and extensions
- I succeeded with "Batch & Format" or "Convert & Modify" but with classical file formats and extensions only

I am probably totaly stupid but:
How do you use "Batch & Format" or "Convert & Modify" with custom formats (extension .hbin, RAW + specific parameters)?
i.e. where do you select the custom input format ?
- I tried opening one .hbin file first
- then selecting "Batch & Format" + Convert for the others
but my .hbin files are not processed.

Extra question: is there a logarithmic scaling somewhere ?

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Convert and modify

Post by forum_adm » Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:32 pm

RAW batch import is possible the following way:
Open a RAW file with file/open and make your settings. This are stored now.
Rename the raw files to the extension .raw
Convert & modify will now convert them with your predefined settings.

Alain Filhol
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:17 pm

Re: Convert and modify

Post by Alain Filhol » Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:30 pm

Dear Thorsten,

Thank you very much for your very helpful answer. It confirms my fears that renaming files from .hbin to .raw and then back to .hbin cannot be avoided.
Here below why this not an ideal for me.

The .hbin files come from a scientific spectrometer and I cannot modify the software to change this extension. tens or hundreds of Gb of such files are produced each month and stored on a readonly server.
Copying and renaming many files is thus time consuming and far from ideal.
Except for the above, Graphic Converter and its very efficient and easy to parametrize “Convert and modify” option is ideal for our many visitors (scientists from everywhere). Our home made apps and the batch mode of Photoshop are less easy to use. ImageJ is good but writing macros requires some training.

Since Graphic Converter already has so many options and already knows how to input custom raw files why not an extra Action ?:
“Custom input file format”

Here the kind of processing our users are likely to perform on each diagram:
1- import .hbin (raw) images
2- rotate image
3- Crop <- to extract specific parts of a diagram
4- Change Color Mode
5- Adjust levels
6- Gaussian blur

As far as I can see the missing one is
7- “logarithmic scaling” or “logarithmic normalisation” <-- very useful to make weak details more visible.
Matlab describes the algorithms of the later as follows:
Take the log of each pixel but add 1 to avoid taking log of zero.
logImage = log(grayImage+1);
Normalize to the range 0-255.
normalizedImage = mat2gray(logImage);

Thank you again for your help and for your excellent Graphic Converter. I use it since the very first version.

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Convert and modify

Post by forum_adm » Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:04 am

Dear Alain,

please download the latest BETA at:
http://www.lemkesoft.org/beta.html

I added now "Logarithm and Normalize" as batch and to the effects menu.

That will do:
image = log(image+1) // works for color images, too
image = normalize(image)

Thorsten

Post Reply