[Closed] crop & reshape

Having tech problems? Post them here and do not worry, there is always a solution for you.
aegis95
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:39 pm

[Closed] crop & reshape

Post by aegis95 »

Until recently (using both GC10 & GC8), I used to be able to crop an area in an image, and then there appear little empty squares on the edge of the cropped box that I can just grab and 1) re-adjust the cropped region and 2) resize the cropped selection to whatever the shape I want (e.g., make it elongated or thinner, or bigger).

At some point (without touching a thing on the preference), this feature is gone and I can use these two most handy features that I used to enjoy. And nowhere in the setting can I seem to find a way to restore this option. Would this be related to the Mac OS upgrade to Catalina? That is the only change I can think of. I restored all the preference options to original but this brings no luck.

Can you help?
Thanks

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany

Re: crop & reshape

Post by forum_adm »

Hi,

which macOS do you use?

Is your 10.x at 10.7.4?

Thorsten

aegis95
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:39 pm

Re: crop & reshape

Post by aegis95 »

Hello Thorsten,
I recently upgraded to 10.15.13 (Catalina). I suspect this might be the reason (because this is the only change before and after...)
Thanks,
Last edited by aegis95 on Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany

Re: crop & reshape

Post by forum_adm »

Please use on Catalina the current GraphicConverter 11.1.2.

Apple changed much internally.

Thorsten

aegis95
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:39 pm

Re: crop & reshape

Post by aegis95 »

Thanks. I just tried GC11 and I don't experience the problems that were described, which is great!

That means, though, I should purchase the new license for GC11, or is there any way to upgrade the license from GC10.
It makes little sense to have to purchase a brand new license for a simple bug that can be easily addressed by the developer, especially when there is no guarantee that the same problem might occur with the newer Mac OSX upgrade...

Thanks

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany

Re: crop & reshape

Post by forum_adm »

You can upgrade at:
https://lemkesoft.onfastspring.com

Thorsten