How to use Batch Rename Filename function?

Having tech problems? Post them here and do not worry, there is always a solution for you.
leahymr
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:02 pm
Country: USA

How to use Batch Rename Filename function?

Post by leahymr »

I'm having difficulty getting the batch Rename Filename function to work.

I'm defining a new batch routine:
1. Select File Operations > Rename Filename
2. Click Define...
3. drag Add Text before and enter "-"
4. drag Add or change Index and select Add new (all else is OK)
5. drag Add Text before and enter "&parent_one_up;"
6. click OK

My intention is to copy the files to the Converted Folder with the new names (e.g., 'img_1234.jpg' -> 'folder001-img_1234.jpg').
Executing the batch script does not work... the files are copied, but the names are not changed.

When I try to edit the batch script, all my definitions are gone.

I have also tried to Save... the information, but I can never load a definition later because when I press Open..., all the settings that were saved in the Rename folder are greyed out and cannot be chosen.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
--Michael

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany

Re: How to use Batch Rename Filename function?

Post by forum_adm »

Hi Michael,

please follow our short YouTube tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSCY7Wn_OMo&t=2s

Thorsten

leahymr
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:02 pm
Country: USA

Re: How to use Batch Rename Filename function?

Post by leahymr »

Thank you, but that video tutorial uses the "Rename (simple) Filename", and I'm trying to use the newer "Rename Filename".

I *did* experiment with Rename (simple) Filename, and discovered that if you try to use that function twice in the same batch script, with each instance doing something different, it doesn't work. Both instances will have the same definition.

--Michael

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany

Re: How to use Batch Rename Filename function?

Post by forum_adm »

Please e-mail the rename settings, the batch and some sample images to support@lemkesoft.com