divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

This area contains the messages from the old Yahoo gcmac group after the port.
Christopher Stone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:47 pm

Re: divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

Post by Christopher Stone »

I've improved the error-checking on this one.--Best Regards,Chris-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------# Auth: Christopher Stone# dCre: 2014/08/06 11:45# dMod: 2014/08/06 12:40# Appl: Finder, GraphicConverter 9# Task: Move hiRez files to subfolder of original starting at folder in GC Browser.#     : If a browser is not open in GC the starting point will move to the desktop.# Libs: None# Osax: None# Tags: @Applescript, @Script, @Finder, @GraphicConverter_9, @Move, @Files-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------try    tell application "GraphicConverter 9"    tell front window      set srcFldr to its file as text    end tell  end tell    if srcFldr does not end with ":" then    set srcFldr to path to desktop as text  end if    set srcFldr to choose folder default location alias srcFldr    tell application "Finder"    set aliasList to (files of srcFldr whose name contains "_highres.jpg") as alias list    if length of aliasList > 0 then      set destFldr to (srcFldr as text) & "HighRes:"      try        set destFldr to alias destFldr      on error        set destFldr to (make new folder at srcFldr with properties {name:"HighRes"}) as alias      end try      move aliasList to destFldr    else      error "No HighRez files were found!"    end if  end tell  on error e number n  set e to e & return & return & "Num: " & n  if n ≠ -128 then    try      tell current application to button returned of ¬        (display dialog e with title "ERROR!" buttons {"Copy Error Message", "Cancel", "OK"} ¬          default button "OK" giving up after 30)      if ddButton = "Copy" then set the clipboard to e    end try  end ifend try-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Christopher Stone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:47 pm

Re: divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

Post by Christopher Stone »

I've improved the error-checking on this one.--Best Regards,Chris-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------# Auth: Christopher Stone# dCre: 2014/08/06 11:45# dMod: 2014/08/06 12:40# Appl: Finder, GraphicConverter 9# Task: Move hiRez files to subfolder of original starting at folder in GC Browser.#     : If a browser is not open in GC the starting point will move to the desktop.# Libs: None# Osax: None# Tags: @Applescript, @Script, @Finder, @GraphicConverter_9, @Move, @Files-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------try    tell application "GraphicConverter 9"    tell front window      set srcFldr to its file as text    end tell  end tell    if srcFldr does not end with ":" then    set srcFldr to path to desktop as text  end if    set srcFldr to choose folder default location alias srcFldr    tell application "Finder"    set aliasList to (files of srcFldr whose name contains "_highres.jpg") as alias list    if length of aliasList > 0 then      set destFldr to (srcFldr as text) & "HighRes:"      try        set destFldr to alias destFldr      on error        set destFldr to (make new folder at srcFldr with properties {name:"HighRes"}) as alias      end try      move aliasList to destFldr    else      error "No HighRez files were found!"    end if  end tell  on error e number n  set e to e & return & return & "Num: " & n  if n ≠ -128 then    try      tell current application to button returned of ¬        (display dialog e with title "ERROR!" buttons {"Copy Error Message", "Cancel", "OK"} ¬          default button "OK" giving up after 30)      if ddButton = "Copy" then set the clipboard to e    end try  end ifend try-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
petri71
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:20 am

Re: divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

Post by petri71 »

HelloThank you very much for your support Brian and Chris...unfortunately I still have the following error message :-------Finder got an error: AppleEvent timed out.Num: -1712------I placed the script at the correct place to be able to find it from GC... that is where I launch it.
Zalman Lazkowicz
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:12 pm

how to open file in Pages for layout

Post by Zalman Lazkowicz »

Hi, I’d like to open an image after editing, in ‘Pages', for layout and then printing. Is there any way to do that, without moving to the desktop, then opening Pages... ? Thanks! Zalman
thorstenlemke
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:00 pm

Re: how to open file in Pages for layout

Post by thorstenlemke »

Dear Zalman,simple the the file as JPG (for example) and drag and drop onto pages.Or select the complete images inside GraphicConverter and drag and drop into an open pages page.Thorsten Hi,I’d like to open an image after editing, in ‘Pages', for layout and then printing.Is there any way to do that, without moving to the desktop, then opening Pages... ? Thanks!Zalman
Zalman Lazkowicz
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:12 pm

Re: how to open file in Pages for layout

Post by Zalman Lazkowicz »

Thanks so much Thorsten, didn’t realise it’s so simple!On Aug 7, 2014, at 12:19 PM, Thorsten Lemke lemke@lemkesoft.de [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote: Dear Zalman,simple the the file as JPG (for example) and drag and drop onto pages.Or select the complete images inside GraphicConverter and drag and drop into an open pages page.ThorstenHi,I’d like to open an image after editing, in ‘Pages', for layout and then printing.Is there any way to do that, without moving to the desktop, then opening Pages... ? Thanks!Zalman
Clifton Patrick
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:04 am

Re: how to open file in Pages for layout

Post by Clifton Patrick »

Alternatively, select all, copy, then paste graphic in Pages document. Clif On Aug 7, 2014, at 5:26 AM, Zalman Lazkowicz zlazkow@yahoo.com [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote: > > Thanks so much Thorsten, didn’t realise it’s so simple! > > > > On Aug 7, 2014, at 12:19 PM, Thorsten Lemke lemke@lemkesoft.de [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote: > >> Dear Zalman, >> >> >> simple the the file as JPG (for example) and drag and drop onto pages. >> Or select the complete images inside GraphicConverter and drag and drop into an open pages page. >> >> Thorsten >> >>> Hi, >>> I’d like to open an image after editing, in ‘Pages', for layout and then printing. >>> Is there any way to do that, without moving to the desktop, then opening Pages... ? >>> >>> Thanks! >>> Zalman >> >> > > >
Christopher Stone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:47 pm

Re: divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

Post by Christopher Stone »

On Aug 07, 2014, at 02:06, petri71@yahoo.com [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote: Thank you very much for your support Brian and Chris...unfortunately I still have the following error message :Finder got an error: AppleEvent timed out.______________________________________________________________________Hey Petri,What script?Send me a copy off-list, and I'll check it out.--Best Regards,Chris
Zalman Lazkowicz
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 12:12 pm

Re: how to open file in Pages for layout

Post by Zalman Lazkowicz »

Thanks very much Cliff  !!!ZalOn Aug 7, 2014, at 3:44 PM, Clifton Patrick clifpatrick@optimum.net [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote: Alternatively, select all, copy, then paste graphic in Pages document.ClifOn Aug 7, 2014, at 5:26 AM, Zalman Lazkowicz zlazkow@yahoo.com [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote:Thanks so much Thorsten, didn’t realise it’s so simple!On Aug 7, 2014, at 12:19 PM, Thorsten Lemke lemke@lemkesoft.de [gcmac] <gcmac@yahoogroups.com> wrote:Dear Zalman,simple the the file as JPG (for example) and drag and drop onto pages.Or select the complete images inside GraphicConverter and drag and drop into an open pages page.ThorstenHi,I’d like to open an image after editing, in ‘Pages', for layout and then printing.Is there any way to do that, without moving to the desktop, then opening Pages... ? Thanks!Zalman------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Yahoo Groups Links<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gcmac/<*> Your email settings:   Individual Email : Traditional<*> To change settings online go to:   http://groups.yahoo.com/group/gcmac/join   (Yahoo! ID required)<*> To change settings via email:   gcmac-digest@yahoogroups.com    gcmac-fullfeatured@yahoogroups.com<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:   gcmac-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com<*> Your use of Yahoo Groups is subject to:   https://info.yahoo.com/legal/us/yahoo/utos/terms/
petri71
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:20 am

Re: divide pic into two sub-folders according to content in name...

Post by petri71 »

sorry, dont know how to PM... :-)this one :try    tell application "GraphicConverter 9"    tell front window      set srcFldr to its file as text    end tell  end tell    if srcFldr does not end with ":" then    set srcFldr to path to desktop as text  end if    set srcFldr to choose folder default location alias srcFldr    tell application "Finder"    set aliasList to (files of srcFldr whose name contains "_highres.jpg") as alias list    if length of aliasList > 0 then      set destFldr to (srcFldr as text) & "HighRes:"      try        set destFldr to alias destFldr      on error        set destFldr to (make new folder at srcFldr with properties {name:"HighRes"}) as alias      end try      move aliasList to destFldr    else      error "No HighRez files were found!"    end if  end tell  on error e number n  set e to e & return & return & "Num: " & n  if n ≠ -128 then    try      tell current application to button returned of ¬        (display dialog e with title "ERROR!" buttons {"Copy Error Message", "Cancel", "OK"} ¬          default button "OK" giving up after 30)      if ddButton = "Copy" then set the clipboard to e    end try  end ifend trythank you !Petri
Post Reply