Why can't I get Clear to work?

This area contains the messages from the old Yahoo gcmac group after the port.
Nickee Sanders

Why can't I get Clear to work?

Post by Nickee Sanders »

Why can't I get Clear to work? I have been using GC for many years, for very simple tasks.  A few years ago now, the latest version suddenly became a lot more complex and I started having problems doing even the most simple of things.  Such as, selecting part of a picture and having it disappear with the use of the backspace key. I worked around this annoyance by using the eraser tool (with some residual annoyance because it's not as quick to use).  But today I'm trying to clean up a .tiff file, and when I click the eraser tool I get the checkerboard pattern which I assume is telling me it's using the transparent colour.  I don't know why this would be so, since the file is newly-opened in GC and to my knowledge doesn't yet have a transparent colour defined.  I don't want the transparent colour, I want the eraser's colour!  If I double-click on the transparent tool I see "Selected Color" which is black (the eraser's colour is white), and the Make Color Transparent checkbox is off. I have looked through the manual and searched the web, to no avail.  I must be stupid because no-one else seems to have this problem.  But, please, how do I select part of a picture and make it disappear? GC version 6.0.1 on Mac OS 10.6.8, by the way.  And yes, I know there are later GC versions out there, but I'm finding this one so annoying that I don't want to upgrade!  If I could downgrade, I would. Many TIA for any help!
thorstenlemke

Re: Why can't I get Clear to work?

Post by thorstenlemke »