Help with batch resizing images

This area contains the messages from the old Yahoo gcmac group after the port.
Timothy Knox

Help with batch resizing images

Post by Timothy Knox »

Quick context: I am a photographer who often shoots both portrait and landscape orientation in the same session. I use GC to convert the images from RAW, and to downscale them. Ideally, I'd like to scale all images down to (for example) 816x544 or 544x816. However, when last I tried choosing a pixel size (such as 816), I'd wind up with some images that were 816x544 and some that were 1224x816. What I really want to say is, "Make the longest side 816 pixels, regardless of orientation, and scale the shorter side to match." Unfortunately, I can't seem to manage that. The best I've found is to take a percentage, but it doesn't seem to honor fractional percentages, so I wind up with small images that are not fully composed of 8x8 blocks, and therefore cannot be losslessly rotated (for example). Is there something I am missing, or just not seeing? Many thanks to you, for your assistance. And mondo thanks to Thorsten for my favourite batch processing image application EVER! :-) -- Timothy Knox <mailto:tdk@thelbane.com> I like to say that in the old days, if you reinvented the wheel, you would get your wrist slapped for not reading. But nowadays people are reinventing the flat tire. I'd personally be happy if they reinvented the wheel, because at least we'd be moving forward. -- Alan Kay
thorstenlemke

Re: Help with batch resizing images

Post by thorstenlemke »