File Renaming Question

This area contains the messages from the old Yahoo gcmac group after the port.
Russell

File Renaming Question

Post by Russell »

I use the Rename function of GC all the time and find it a powerful tool.  I would like to be able to use the folder name as part of the new file name.  On page 38 of the Hagens Manual, there is a reference to an “&parent” command If you want to insert the name of the parent folder in the filename, enter “&parent” in the respective box without the inverted commas.  How, exactly, do you use this command?  When I type that into the name box all I get is   “_parent”.  I am not a programer.Thanks,Russell
thorstenlemke

Re: File Renaming Question

Post by thorstenlemke »

Dear Russell,the real replacement will be done upon clicking on ok.The preview do bot fetch the folder name.Thorsten I use the Rename function of GC all the time and find it a powerful tool.  I would like to be able to use the folder name as part of the new file name.  On page 38 of the Hagens Manual, there is a reference to an “&parent” command If you want to insert the name of the parent folder in the filename, enter “&parent” in the respective box without the inverted commas. How, exactly, do you use this command?  When I type that into the name box all I get is   “_parent”.  I am not a programer.Thanks,Russell
Russell

Post by Russell »