Transparent Background

The right place to speak and share about your experiences of GraphicConverter
Post Reply
ZalLazkovich
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:34 am

Transparent Background

Post by ZalLazkovich »

Hi,
I have grayscale images with a white background, which I try to make Transparent (the background).
I use the Transparency tool, but it makes the whole image transparent, despite indicating the white color.
The image is in sRGB color model. I checkmark as 'Grayscale', still doesn't' work out for me.
How this should be done properly please ?
Image attached.
Thank you very much, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Zal
Attachments
090sample.jpg
090sample.jpg (108.26 KiB) Viewed 147 times

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 738
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Transparent Background

Post by forum_adm »

Hi Zal,
please do the following:
1) Change to RGB with Picture/Mode/RGB
2) Use the Magic Pen and click into the white area.
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.08.47.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.08.47.jpg (192.22 KiB) Viewed 141 times
3) Use Picture/Alpha Channel/Create from Selection
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.09.03.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.09.03.jpg (84.18 KiB) Viewed 141 times
4) Save the file as PNG to keep the alpha channel
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.09.12.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-12-26 at 09.09.12.jpg (249.69 KiB) Viewed 141 times
Thats all.

ZalLazkovich
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:34 am

Re: Transparent Background

Post by ZalLazkovich »

Thank you so much Thorsten!
What about the two small white areas behind the rear wheels ?
The same procedure ?

Thanks!
Zal

ZalLazkovich
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:34 am

Re: Transparent Background

Post by ZalLazkovich »

Hi again Thorsten and very sorry for bothering,
I attached another vector graphic. I do exactly what you said to do, but few white areas on top leaves don't turn into alpha. I used the transparency tool in the tool box, adjusted tolerance, but nothing helps. These two or three white spots on the leaves that don't become alpha, can alpha be added by other means ?

Thanks!
Zal
Attachments
033 (1)thorsten.png
033 (1)thorsten.png (52.04 KiB) Viewed 129 times

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 738
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Transparent Background

Post by forum_adm »

Just use shift click into the white areas to add them.

Thorsten

ZalLazkovich
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:34 am

Re: Transparent Background

Post by ZalLazkovich »

Thanks!!!!

Post Reply