[Added] Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Want to submit a new feature, an enhancement ? Do it here !
Post Reply
porg
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2022 1:04 pm
Country: Austria

[Added] Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Post by porg »

GC > Preferences > General > Selection > Selection Size

1) Position Color + Size Color
✅ Ok as preferences, unlikely that you change this ad-hoc.

2) Display next to selection rectangle
👉 Better in the main menu with a keystroke to toggle this on/off on demand.
👉 Rename from "Size" which in general language means simply "width x height" to "Dimensions" which better corresponds to the fact that it also shows the co-ordinates of top-left and bottom-right of the selection.


Menu > View


Show Selection Frame
Show Selection Dimensions

User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 1812
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Post by forum_adm »

I added now a menu command to the latest BETA:
http://www.lemkesoft.org/beta.html
Screenshot 2024-01-30 at 09.20.jpg
Screenshot 2024-01-30 at 09.20.jpg (280.46 KiB) Viewed 6532 times
porg
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2022 1:04 pm
Country: Austria

Re: [Added] Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Post by porg »

✅ Could assign shortcuts to both:
Show Selection
Show Dimensions

❌ But what does "Show Dimensions" relate to? Dimensions of the image? The window? Whatever…?

→ Therefore please name the menu items to what my proposal foresaw for good reasons:

Show Selection
Show Selection Dimensions
User avatar
forum_adm
Site Admin
Posts: 1812
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:41 am
Location: Germany
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Added] Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Post by forum_adm »

Dimensions of selection, line, circle, rectangle - but that is to long for the menu item.
porg
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2022 1:04 pm
Country: Austria

Re: [Added] Selection Size: Convert from preference into ad-hoc toggle at Menu > View > Show Selection Dimensions

Post by porg »

Thanks for the info! Learned something new. That this is not only for the Selection, but also for vector object drawing etc.

Given that new information I propose to rename the labels to this:

Show Selection Frame
Show Selection & Object Metrics

Zeige Auswahl-Rahmen
Zeige Auswahl/Objekt Maße
Post Reply