Arrow keys and selections

This area contains the messages from the old Yahoo gcmac group after the port.
George Slusher

Arrow keys and selections

Post by George Slusher »

I've just started using GC 4.6.1. Some nice features, but, alas, once again, some of the keyboard shortcuts have changed, like the action of the arrow keys and modifier keys. This is at least the third time this has happened in my recent memory. (I've been using Graphic Converter for almost 10 years.) I wish that they would stay the same. It's a real pain to have to learn new keyboard shortcuts for every .1 change (e.g., 4.5 to 4.6). For example, at one time, it was command-option-I to open the information window; it's been command-CONTROL-I since at least 4.5. Ditto with the "convert" command: it used to be command-option-m but is now command-control-M. The various scale commands have changed, as well. If there is a REALLY good reason to change keyboard shortcuts, fine--just be sure that the changes are clearly stated in the documentation. Otherwise, please leave them alone. When Adobe changed a bunch of the keyboard shortcuts in Photoshop, there was a major uproar. It wasn't just people being inconvenienced or a little ticked off: it cost many businesses thousands of dollars in lost productivity. Microsoft is notorious for doing this--it keeps the companies doing Word training in business. One would hope that Mac developers would learn from that bad example and not change keyboard shortcuts without really good reason. On top of this, a very useful command has completely disappeared. In GC 4.5, holding down the shift key and using the arrow keys moved the bottom or right edge of a selection boundary (changes the size of the selection). Holding down the control key (used to be the option key--another change!) and using the arrow keys moved the top or left edge of the selection. That was very useful. Using only the arrow keys moved the selection (opaque) itself. Now, it's really screwed up. Now,